Please or Register to create posts and topics.

System of Government


The United States Federal Government comprises of three co-equal branches of government:  Legislative, Executive, and Judicial.  Here is a short explanation paragraph from

The Constitution divided the Government into three branches: legislative, executive, and judicial. That was an important decision because it gave specific powers to each branch and set up something called checks and balances. Just like the phrase sounds, the point of checks and balances was to make sure no one branch would be able to control too much power, and it created a separation of powers.


For International posters, what is your system of government?




In New Zealand we have different system compare to US and you can find more information :

As you can read The system of government works by having 3 separate branches of government. This ‘separation of powers’ makes sure no one part of government has too much power. One is The legislature (Parliament), The Executive branch and The judiciary.




It's interesting that from the link you gave, New Zealand's government hold its elections every 3 years.  For us in the USA, the elections of our Legislative branch (Congress) is every 2 years, and the Executive branch (Presidency) is every 4 years, but our Judicial branch (Supreme Court) is for life.

It's also interesting that you recognize Queen Elizabeth II as the head of your state.  We gave up the British monarchy back in 1776, which is our independence day.